Apple Turns Snapchat Into a Privacy Nightmare

By
Screenshot away!Photo: SnapChat

The redeeming feature of Snapchat, the vanishing-photo app that is beloved by Wall Street bankers and others, has always been that it is a relatively safe way to transmit incriminating and/or fleshy shots of yourself. Snapchatting has never been truly safe, mind you, since a recipient can always take a screenshot of a photo you send them. But until recently, the app would warn senders when their photos had been screenshotted, which put worried minds a little more at ease.

No longer. MacRumors reports that the latest version of Apple's iOS is missing the feature that allowed for screenshot warnings. Now you'll never know if the person you just sent your dirty photos to has stored them for blackmailing purposes later on. Be careful out there, kids.