Skip to content, or skip to search.

Skip to content, or skip to search.

new york city marathon

Chilean Miner Edison Peña Ran Faster Than Al Roker, and Other Notable Times From Yesterday’s Marathon

Ethiopia's Gebre Gebremariam (2:08:14) became the first man since 1980 to win the New York City Marathon in his marathon debut, Kenyan Edna Kiplagat (2:28:20) won the women's title, and men's world-record holder Haile Gebrselassie made headlines for announcing his retirement after pulling out of the race with an injury near the sixteen-mile mark. But the starting field of 45,344 also included all manner of celebrities, borderline celebrities, and at least one Yankees beat writer (Bryan Hoch, 4:52:19). Some notable finishing times:

Kirk Acevedo: 3:00:08
Ryan Sutter: 3:20:39
Amelie Mauresmo: 3:40:20
Bobby Flay: 4:01:37
Yannick Noah: 4:01:38
Anthony Edwards: 4:04:45
Adrian Young: 4:05:46
Justin Gimelstob: 4:09:58
Amani Toomer: 4:13:45
Brad Ludden: 4:16:19
Ethan Zohn: 4:16:20
Veronica Webb: 4:59:12
Keir Dillon: 5:08:59
Jared Fogle: 5:13:28
Edison Peña: 5:40:51
Meredith Vieira: 5:59:00
Robin Quivers: 6:09:00
Al Roker: 7:09:44

Photo: Andrew Burton/Getty Images