Cathy Horyn Reveals Her Pick for the CFDA Swarovski Womenswear Award

Altuzarra, fall 2010.

The nominees for this year's CFDA Swarovski Award for Womenswear, given each year to emerging talent, are Prabal Gurung, Jason Wu, and Joseph Altuzarra. Professing to be more interested in the Young Designer award than that of Designer of the Year, Cathy Horyn has singled out one front-runner on her blog: "[W]ho in three or four seasons has provided the creative stretch that runway mavens look for? Whose name is mentioned quietly among European houses as someone to watch and, maybe eventually, design or advise behind the scenes? And who keeps a bit of a distance from the pack? Beyond the CFDA awards night on June 7, I would keep my eye on Mr. Altuzarra."

So Maven Me, Dudes [On the Runway/NYT]
Related: Alexander Wang and Marc Jacobs Lead This Year’s CFDA Award Nominations