CFDA to Finally Award Johnny Depp for a Lifetime of Wacky Hats and Watch Chains

Garance Doré, Pamela Love, and Mr. Depp, himself. Photo: Bennett Raglin/Getty Images, Astrid Stawiarz/Getty Images, Michael Stewart/Getty Images

The CFDA released the full list of nominees and honorees for its 2012 Fashion Awards on Wednesday night, and this year's roundup is a real mixed bag. Subjectively speaking, womenswear, menswear and accessory designer of the year are real snoozefests — how many times can Alexander Wang, the Proenza Schouler boys, and Marc Jacobs be nominated for some type of trophy? (Turns out five, each, in the last five seasons, if you're playing along at home!) In an interesting twist, the most thrilling categories happen to be those for which the winners have already been named, specifically the Eugenia Sheppard award — mad props to the Sartorialist and Garance Doré, who told The Cut, "It's great to see the fashion establishment has recognized the seriousness and the impact that new media, like blogs, Twitter, Facebook, can have in the fashion industry" — and the Fashion Icon award, which will go to Johnny Depp, yes that Johnny Depp. He's the first guy to ever receive the honor, and who is more deserving?

And the rest of the nominees (and honorees) are ...

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award: Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for the Row, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs. 

Menswear Designer of the Year: Billy Reid, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr. 

Accessory Designer of the Year Award: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff.

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Womenswear: Chris Peters & Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind, Joseph Altuzarra, and Max Osterweis & Erin Beatty for Suno.

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Menswear: Antonio Azzuolo, Phillip Lim, and Todd Snyder. 

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Accessory Design: Irene Neuwirth, Pamela Love, and Tabitha Simmons.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger.

The Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Scott Schuman & Garance Doré.

The Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp.

The Founders Award, given in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Rosen.

The International Award: Rei Kawakubo.

The event will be held June 4th at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall and hosted by Seth Meyers.