The 2013 CFDA Awards: A Primer

The CFDA Awards. Photo: Dimitrios Kambouris/WireImage

Tonight is the CFDA Awards, the New York fashion industry's equivalent of the Oscars. The red carpet is a who's who of American designers and their celebrity dates, and this year's presenters include luminaries like Jessica Chastain, Hillary Clinton (!!!), Linda Evangelista, and Ralph Lauren. We'll have a full runway slideshow of all the attendees up for you tonight, as well as GIFs, red-carpet video, and more. In the meantime, a quick primer on who will take the stage:

Andy Cohen will host the evening.
• Ralph Lauren will present Vera Wang with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.
• Jessica Chastain will present Riccardo Tisci with the International Award. 
• Linda Evangelista will present Tim Blanks with the Media Award.
• Hillary Clinton will present Oscar de la Renta with the Founders Award. 
• Kerry Washington will present the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award.

And the 2013 nominees are...

Womenswear designer of the year: 
Marc Jacobs
Alexander Wang
Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez

Menswear designer of the year: 
Michael Bastian
Thom Browne
Duckie Brown’s Steven Cox and Daniel Silver

Accessories designer of the year:
Alexander Wang
Phillip Lim
Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez

Swarovski award for emerging talent in womenswear:
Suno’s Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis
Creatures of the Wind’s Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters
Cushnie et Ochs’ Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs

Swarovski award for emerging talent in menswear:
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder
Public School’s Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne 

Swarovski award for emerging talent in accessories:
Pamela Love
Jennifer Meyer
Irene Neuwirth