show and talk

An Accessories Grudge Match at CFDA Awards


From left, Bing Bang bag and Loeffler Randall shoes.Photo: Bing Bang and Noah Sheldon

Every June, the CFDA awards bring the fashion world to a screeching halt. Who’ll win? Will there be catfights? Whom is Anna Wintour voting for? This year, the answer to every question: Who cares? Though top designers will win on Monday — Oscar de la Renta battles Marc Jacobs and Proenza Schouler for “Womenswear Designer of the Year,” while Phillip Lim, Thakoon, and Rodarte compete for the Swarovski Womenswear Award (for “emerging new talent”) — there’ll be no big shocking upset.

Maybe Marc Jacobs, in a coup, will win both awards he’s up for. Or perhaps Oscar will get a nod (the first in seven years), because, let’s face it, the man can sew. The only real question this season (other than the after-party location) is the Swarovski Accessories Award. Here’s where the newbies come in, people you’ve never actually heard of. Justin Giunta of Subversive, Jessie Randall of Loeffler Randall, and Anna Sheffield of Bing Bang fight to be the new “It” item of the year. Our bet? A toss-up between Sheffield and Randall. Though Subversive’s jewelry is gallery-worthy (and breathtaking), it isn’t the easiest sell. And though we’re not fans of wedges (damn our dainty ankles), you can’t flip through a magazine these days without seeing Loeffler Randall’s signature kicks. But Bing Bang’s rock-inspired (yet happily un-hipster) jewelry and bags have won even the cold hearts at Condé. We’ll be at the edge of our seat, trying to flag down the waiter for a champers refill. —Amina Akhtar

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Oscar de la Renta
Marc Jacobs for Marc Jacobs
Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler

Menswear Designer of the Year
Steven Cox & Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown
Ralph Lauren
Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein

Accessory Designer of the Year
Michael Kors | See his fall 2007 collection
Derek Lam | See his fall 2007 collection
Marc Jacobs for Marc Jacobs | See his fall 2007 collection

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Phillip Lim
Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte
Thakoon Panichgul

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Michael Bastian
Tim Hamilton
David Neville & Marcus Wainwright for Rag & Bone

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Justin Giunta for Subversive
Jessie Randall for Loeffler Randall
Anna Sheffield for Bing Bang

An Accessories Grudge Match at CFDA Awards