select all

How to Use Facebook’s 5 New Reactions

Until now, the only way to show how you felt about a Facebook post was to like it. Well, you could write comments like “lol” or “thats crazy :0” or “😎😎😎😎” but that requires multiple button-presses, and who has the time these days? Practically since the like button’s inception, users have been clamoring for a dislike button. Instead, Facebook is rolling out five more Reactions to let users more accurately express their response. In addition to clicking like, users will soon have the option to select from a menu that also includes angry, sad, wow, haha, and love. (“Yay” was scrapped because it was not universal enough.)

Today we're launching a test of Reactions -- a more expressive Like button. The Like button has been a part of Facebook for a long time. Billions of Likes are made every day, and Liking things is a simple way to express yourself.For many years though, people have asked us to add a "dislike" button. Not every moment is a good moment, and sometimes you just want a way to express empathy. These are important moments where you need the power to share more than ever, and a Like might not be the best way to express yourself.At a recent Townhall Q&A, I shared with our community that we've spent a lot of time thinking about the best way to give you better options for expressing yourself, while keeping the experience simple and respectful. Today we're starting to test this.Reactions gives you new ways to express love, awe, humor and sadness. It's not a dislike button, but it does give you the power to easily express sorrow and empathy -- in addition to delight and warmth. You’ll be able to express these reactions by long pressing or hovering over the Like button. We’re starting to test Reactions in Ireland and Spain and will learn from this before we bring the experience to everyone. We hope you like this – or can better express how you’re feeling!

Posted by Mark Zuckerberg on Thursday, October 8, 2015

But how is one actually supposed to deploy these new reactions? Navigating the murky waters of social media can be dangerous, so here’s a guide.

Status: “This clip from last night’s Jimmy Fallon is amaaaaaaazing!”

Everyone else: Haha reaction

You: Wow reaction, as in, “Wow, please get off my feed.”

Status: A picture of an engagement ring with the caption “OMG! Justin proposed and I said yes!!!”

Everyone else: Love reaction

You: Haha reaction, as in “Haha marriage is a tool of the patriarchy that you’ve willingly trapped yourself in.”

Status: “Went out to my car this afternoon to find the window smashed and my radio gone. Worst day ever!”

Everyone else: Anger reaction

You: Haha reaction, as in “Haha I don’t know why we’re friends on Facebook and I don’t care to remain on good terms with you.”

Status: “Got an amazing glimpse of the meteor shower tonight! This tiny blue marble that we call home is just one infinitesimal speck in a vast universe!”

Everyone else: Wow reaction

You: Haha reaction, as in “Haha I can’t believe you think the Earth is round.”

Status:RIP Grandpa. You were a shining beacon of hope and I will miss you forever. I love you and I’m happy that you and Grandma are together in Heaven.”

Everyone else: Sad reaction

You: Haha reaction, as in “Haha, heaven isn’t real and religion is the opiate of the masses.”

The company has been testing the feature since last October and is finally ready to roll it out worldwide, which means you no longer have to click like on breakup announcements. And for the people writing those downer announcements, you no longer have to structure them in a way that makes liking them seem like the appropriate response.

There is an obvious side effect of adding more granularity to how people can react to Facebook posts: It gives Facebook and advertisers a better idea of who you are and where your interests lie. If, for example, you were to continually use the angry reaction on posts about Donald Trump, you might see fewer posts about him.

Facebook says Reactions should start rolling out in the next few weeks.